Academic Calendar

Graduate

Fall 2018 - 2019 / Cycle 1
Day Month Date Event
Sunday September 2 First Day of Weekday  Classes – Fall Cycle 1
Friday September 7 First Day of Weekend Classes – Fall Cycle 1
Saturday September 15 Last day to add/drop without penalty
Sunday September 16 First Day of 100% penalty for add/drop
Sunday October 21 Exam Week  Oct 21 to 27th
Fall 2018 - 2019 / Cycle 2
Day Month Date Event
Sunday October 28 First day of weekday  classes – Fall Cycle 2
Friday November 2 First day of weekend classes – Fall Cycle 2
Saturday November 10 Last day to add/drop without penalty
Sunday November 11 First Day of 100% penalty for add/drop
Friday November 30 Martyr's Day - University Closed
Saturday December 1 National Day - University Closed
Sunday December 16 Exam Week – Fall cycle 2 ( Dec 16-22)
Sunday December 23 Fall Break Commences
Spring 2018 - 2019 / Cycle 1
Day Month Date Event
Sunday January 13 First day of weekday classes – Spring Cycle 1
Friday January 18 First day of weekend classes – Spring Cycle 1
Saturday January 26 Last day to add/drop without penalty
Sunday January 27 First Day of 100% penalty for add/drop
Sunday March 3 Exam Week - March 3-9
Spring 2018 - 2019 / Cycle 2
Day Month Date Event
Sunday March 10 First Day of Weekday Classes – Spring cycle 2
Friday March 15 First Day of Weekend Classes – Spring cycle 2
Saturday March 23 Last day to add/drop without penalty
Sunday March 24 First day of 100% penalty for add/drop
Sunday March 24 Spring break
Sunday March 31 Classes resume
Saturday April 13 Graduation*
Sunday May 5 Final exams week – 5th May to 11th May
Summer 1 2018 - 2019
Day Month Date Event
Sunday May 12 First day of weekday classes – Summer Cycle 1
Friday May 17 First Day of Weekend Classes – Summer Cycle 2
Sunday June 23 Final exams week - 23rd June to 29th June
Summer 2 2018 - 2019
Day Month Date Event
Sunday June 30 Start of Summer 2
Saturday August 17 End of Summer 2
Fall 2019 - 2020 / Cycle 1
Month Date Event
May 1 Pre-Registration Open for Fall
August 22 Last day to secure pre-registration -Payment of Tuition Fees
September 1 First Day of Classes ( weekday classes)
September 6 First Day of Classes (weekend classes)
September 14 First Day of 100% penalty - No new courses can be added
September 28  First day of WN grade
October  20 Final exams October 20th to Oct 26th
Fall 2019 - 2020 / Cycle 2
Month Date Event
October  27 First Day of Classes ( weekday classes) 
November  1 First Day of Classes (weekend classes)
November  9 First Day of 50% penalty - No new courses can be added
November  16 First Day of 100% penalty 
November  23  First day of WN grade
December 1 Commemoration Day - University Closed
December 2 - 3 National Day - University Closed
December 15 Final exams Dec 15th to 21st
December 22 Fall Break commences
Spring 2019 - 2020 / Cycle 1
Month Date Event
November 3 Pre-Registration Open for Spring Semester
January 12 First Day of Weekday Classes 
January 17 First Day of Classes (weekend classes)
January 25 First Day of 50% penalty
Feb 1 First Day of 100% penalty
Feb 8  First day of WN grade
March 1 Final exams March 1st to March 7th
Spring 2019 - 2020 / Cycle 2
Month Date Event
March 22 First Day of Weekday Classes 
March 27 First Day of Weekend Classes 
May 10 Final exams May 10th to May 16th
Summer 1
Month Date Event
May 17 First Day of Weekday Classes 
May 22 First Day of Weekend Classes 
June 28 Final exams June 28th- July 4th
Summer 2
Month Date Event
July 5 First Day of Weekday Classes 
July  10 First Day of Weekend Classes 
August 16 Final exams Aug 16th to 22nd 

All Islamic Lunar Holidays for the private sector will be fixed per announcement by the relevant Ministry
Always refer to www.cud.ac.ae for the latest Academic Calendar, as some dates are subject to change